Advisory & Editorial Boards

Former and Current Editors

Germaine Greer, 1982
Shari Benstock, 1983-1986
Mary O’Toole, Acting Editor, 1987-1988
Holly A. Laird, 1988-2005, a CELJ Distinguished Editor
Laura M. Stevens, 2006-2016, a CELJ Distinguished Editor
Jennifer L. Airey, 2014-present

Advisory Board

Carol T. Christ, Smith College
Helen Cooper, State University of New York, Stony Brook
Marianne DeKoven, Rutgers University
Arlyn Diamond, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Maria DiBattista, Princeton University
Joanne Feit Diehl, University of California, Davis
Josephine Donovan, University of Maine
Elizabeth Ermarth, Trent University
Margaret Ferguson, University of California, Davis
Susan Stanford Friedman, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Sandra M. Gilbert, University of California, Davis
Susan Gubar, Indiana University
Judith P. Hallett, University of Maryland
Elizabeth Hampsten, University of North Dakota
Margaret Homans, Yale University
Peggy Kamuf, University of Southern California
Sydney J. Kaplan, University of Washington
Holly A. Laird, University of Tulsa
Anne Larsen, Hope College
Deborah E. McDowell, University of Virginia
Nancy K. Miller, Lehman College, CUNY
Felicity A. Nussbaum, University of California, Los Angeles
Ruth Perry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Mary Anne Schofield, Villanova University
Patricia Meyer Spacks, University of Virginia
Laura M. Stevens, University of Tulsa
Paula A. Treichler, University of Illinois
Renate Voris, University of Virginia

Editorial Board

Three new board members are appointed each issue and serve a term of three years.

Misty G. Anderson, University of Tennessee
Gabeba Baderoon, Pennsylvania State University
Carolyn Vellenga Berman, Eugene Lang College of Liberal Arts, The New School
Anne A. Cheng, Princeton University
Kimberly Anne Coles, University of Maryland
Mary Ellis Gibson, Colby College
Praseeda Gopinath, Binghamton University, State University of New York
Robin Hackett, University of New Hampshire
Melissa J. Homestead, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Catherine Ingrassia, Virginia Commonwealth University
Cynthia Richards, Wittenberg University
Elizabeth Sheehan, Ohio State University
Harleen Singh, Brandeis University
Margaret Stetz, University of Delaware
Laura E. Tanner, Boston College
Lara Vetter, University of North Carolina, Charlotte
Chloe Wigston Smith, University of York
Mary Youssef, Binghamton University, State University of New York

Former Editorial Board Members

Fall 2007-Spring 2010
Dianne Chisholm, University of Alberta
Maram Epstein, University of Oregon
Elizabeth Robertson, University of Glasgow

Spring 2008-Fall 2010
Karen Kilcup, University of North Carolina, Greensboro
Phyllis Lassner, Northwestern University
Kathryn Joy McKnight, University of New Mexico

Fall 2008-Spring 2011
Eve Tavor Bannet, University of Oklahoma
Jean M. Lutes, Villanova University
Susan Strehle, Binghamton University

Spring 2009-Fall 2011
Julia Abramson, University of Oklahoma
Katherine Adams, Tulane University
Ellen B. Rosenman, University of Kentucky

Fall 2009-Spring 2012
Giselle Anatol, University of Kansas
Samar Habib, SOAS, University of London
Chantal Zabus, University of Paris

Spring 2010-Fall 2012
Deborah Clarke, Arizona State University
Susannah Mintz, Skidmore College
Angela Sorby, Marquette University

Fall 2010-Spring 2013
Anna Battigelli, State University of New York, Plattsburgh
Anne Fogarty, University College Dublin
Hyungji Park, Yonsei University

Spring 2011-Fall 2013
Sarah Gleeson-White
, University of Sydney
Cathryn Halverson
, University of Copenhagen
Monika Shafi
, University of Delaware

Fall 2011-Spring 2014
Siao-chen Hu, Institute of Chinese Literature and Philosophy, Academia Sinica
Jacqueline Labbe, University of Sheffield
Joanne van der Woude, University of Groningen

Spring 2012-Fall 2014
Donette A. Francis, University of Miami
Praseeda Gopinath, Binghamton University
Miranda B. Hickman, McGill University

Fall 2012-Spring 2015
Carolina Alzate, Universidad de los Andes de Bogotá
Kristina Bross, Purdue University
Christine A. Jones, University of Maryland

Spring 2013-Fall 2015
Dorice Williams Elliott, University of Kansas
Roxanne Rimstead, Université de Sherbrooke
Victoria Stewart, University of Leicester

Fall 2013-Spring 2016
Meryl Altman, DePauw University
Susan Strehle, Binghamton University
MaryEllen Higgins, Penn State University

Spring 2014-Fall 2016
Sandy Alexandre, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Isobel Hurst, Goldsmiths, University of London
Brigid Rooney, University of Sydney

Fall 2014-Spring 2017
Jennie Batchelor, University of Kent
Elena Suet-Ying Chiu, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Catherine Keyser, University of South Carolina

Spring 2015-Fall 2017
Madhu Dubey, University of Illinois, Chicago
Elizabeth Jackson, University of the West Indies
Gabrielle McIntire, Queen’s University

Fall 2015-Spring 2018
Ellen G. Friedman, University of Illinois, Chicago
Maren Linett, Purdue University
Elizabeth Podnieks, Queen’s University

Spring 2016-Fall 2018
Theresa Delgadillo, Ohio State University
Kate Flint, University of Southern California
Devoney Looser, Arizona State University

Fall 2016-Spring 2019
Carol Fadda, Syracuse University
Marjorie Howes, Boston College
Monika Mehta, Binghamton University

Spring 2017-Fall 2019
Diana Maltz, Southern Oregon University
Fiona Morrison, University of New South Wales Sydney
Iyunolu Osagie, Oregon State University

Fall 2017-Spring 2020
Leslie Bow, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Mary Chapman, University of British Columbia, Vancouver
Gillian Dow, University of Southampton

Spring 2018-Fall 2020
Madelyn Detloff, Miami University
Ambreen Hai, Smith College
Koritha Mitchell, Ohio State University

Fall 2018-Spring 2021
Brigitte Fielder, University of Wisconsin, Madison
J. Samaine Lockwood, George Mason University
Celia Marshik
Stony Brook University

Spring 2019-Fall 2021
Laura Engel, Duquesne University
Karen Gevirtz, Seton Hall University
Talia Schaffer, Queens College and the Graduate Center, CUNY

Fall 2019-Spring 2022
Marilyn Francus, West Virginia University
Jean Mills, John Jay College, CUNY
Carrie J. Preston, Boston University

Spring 2020-Fall 2022
Anupama Arora, University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth
Mary Jean Corbett, Miami University, Ohio
Hala Halim, New York University

Mary Wollstonecraft Sojourner Truth Margaret Atwood Abigail Adams Amy Tan H.D. Simone de Beauvoir Zora Neale Hurston Frances Burney Virginia Woolf

"The white saxifrage with the indented leafe is moste commended for the breakinge of the Stone."

— Turner, Herbal, III, 68 [1568]